Qualifier Pic

Metro Atlanta K-8 Team State Qualifier 2015

By Laura Doman

The largest scholastic team event of the year, the Metro Atlanta K-8 Team State Qualifier, was attended by over 1000 players and their families on Saturday, February 21, 2015 at the Cobb Galleria Centre. The specter of last year’s “Snow-pocalypse” haunted the thoughts of both tournament staff and parents, but fortunately the rain and cold temperatures on Friday evening didn’t materialize any dreaded black ice on Atlanta’s roads Saturday morning.

The Qualifier tournament serves to identify the top metro Atlanta schools that will be invited to play in the Georgia team championship on Saturday, March 21 at Creekland Middle School in Lawrenceville, Georgia. These schools will be joined by school teams from other parts of the state, as well. Additionally, the Qualifier recognizes the top scoring teams within each metro Atlanta county with championship trophies.

Five teams were awarded place trophies in the K-1 section, with six others receiving plus score trophies for winning more than half their games:

K-1 Winners

 1st:  Fulton Sunshine, Fulton County Champion

2nd: Westminster

3rd: East Side, Cobb County Champion

4th: Brumby Elementary

5th: Cliff Valley, Dekalb County Champion

Plus score recipients: Davis Elementary, Sope Creek, Galloway, Lovett, Woodward, and Trinity School.

Forsyth County Champion: Brookwood Elementary


Ten teams received place trophies in the K-3 section, with thirteen teams taking home a plus score trophy:

K-3 Winners

1st:  Whitefield, Cobb County Champion

2nd: Brookwood, Forsyth County Champion

3rd: Cliff Valley, Dekalb County Champion

4th: Crab Apple, Fulton County Champion

5th: East Side

6th: Shakerag

7th: Trinity School

8th: Westminster

9th: Vanderlyn

10th: Mt. Paran

Plus score recipients: Sope Creek, Fernbank, Sweet Apple, Roswell North, Daves Creek, Big Creek, Pace, Parsons (Gwinnett County Champion), Montgomery, Sugar Hill, Rocky Mount, Murdock, and Tritt.


Ten teams in the K-5 section were awarded place trophies, with thirteen others winning plus score trophies:

K-5 Winners

1st: Brookwood, Forsyth County Champion

2nd: Medlock Bridge, Fulton County Champion

3rd: East Side, Cobb County Champion

4th: Daves Creek

5th: Shakerag

6th: Big Creek

7th: Settles Bridge

8th: Fulton Sunshine

9th: Fernbank, Dekalb County Champion

10th: Paideia

Plus score recipients:  State Bridge, Fulton Science Academy, Nickajack, Pace Academy, Beaver Ridge (Gwinnett County Champion), Sope Creek, Timber Ridge, Trinity School, Davis Elementary, King Spring, Walker, Rocky Mount, and Mountain View.


Five teams in the Middle School (6-8) section won place trophies, with seven others receiving plus score trophies:

Middle School (6-8) Winners

1st: Westminster, Fulton County Champion

2nd: River Trail

3rd: Paideia, Dekalb County Champion

4th: Taylor Road

5th: Northwest

Plus score recipients: Fulton Science Academy, Whitefield Academy (Cobb County Champion), Cliff Valley, Autrey Mill, Dodgen, Hull Middle School (Gwinnett County Champion), and Chamblee Middle School.

Douglas County Champion:  Factory Shoals Middle School

Forsyth County Champion:  South Forsyth Middle School


We would like to apologize for the delay we had following round 3.  Much time and energy was put into preparing for this event in hopes of running a smooth, on-time tournament.  Few are more distressed than we are as volunteers for the technical issues we had with the K-3 section. We continue to work to improve our tournaments and we appreciate your patience through these issues.

Special thanks to our talented Georgia chess players for conducting simul: GM Alonso Zapata, IM Carlos Perdomo, Damir Studen, and Michael Corallo.

Click HERE for the complete tournament results. Click HERE for pictures posted on Facebook.

Congratulations to all! The list of school teams qualifying for the 2015 K-8 Team State Championship are posted on the Georgia Chess website at


Related Posts

Leave a Reply